The Weeknd - After Hours

About After Hours by The Weeknd Album

After Hours is the fourth studio album by Canadian singer The Weeknd. XO and Republic Records released the album on March 20, 2020. It is The Weeknd's first studio album since 2016's Starboy, following the release of the 2018 EP My Dear Melancholy. The album is dedicated to a fan, which passed away shortly before the album's release. The standard edition has no featured artists, and the deluxe edition features remixed tracks, with guest appearances from Chromatics and Lil Uzi Vert, along with additional production from The Blaze, Johnny Jewel, and OPN. After Hours' deluxe edition was later updated to include three new bonus tracks. A remix EP titled After Hours (Remixes) featuring the deluxe edition's remixes and an additional remix was later released. After Hours will be promoted with the After Hours Tour, which is set to span North America and Europe. The artwork and aesthetic for the album's promotional material has been described as psychedelic and being inspired by various films, such as Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Joker, Casino, and Uncut Gems, with the last film having a cameo appearance by The Weeknd himself. The two Billboard Hot 100 number-one singles have supported the project: "Heartless" and "Blinding Lights", as well as "In Your Eyes". The album's title track has been issued as a promotional single. On March 19, 2020, a record 1.02 million users pre-added After Hours to their Apple Music library. The album debuted atop the US Billboard 200, with 444,000 album-equivalent units, 275,000 of which were in pure sales. It is The Weeknd's fourth number-one album and marks the biggest first-week sales of 2020 for an album. It also reached number one in 16 other countries including Canada and the United Kingdom. The album received widespread acclaim, with some critics praising the album as The Weeknd's best. Background and release: The Weeknd first teased that he was working on a new album in November 2018, via a performance in which he told the crowd "Chapter VI was coming soon." On January 12, 2019, Tesfaye then proceeded to further tease the project and its sound by tweeting "no more daytime music" to fans, making media outlets believe that he was set to continue the darker music found in My Dear Melancholy. Following a trio of collaborative singles throughout 2019, on August 6, he further reassured fans that he was working on his fourth studio album. Then after five months of silence, on November 24, the single "Blinding Lights" was revealed through a Mercedes-Benz television commercial, with reports of "Heartless" surfacing a day later. The latter song then premiered on the seventh episode of The Weeknd's Memento Mori Beats 1 radio show on November 27, 2019. Which in the hours leading into the release of the radio show episode, The Weeknd announced on social media his return to music with the captions "the fall starts tomorrow night" and "Tonight we start a new brain-melting psychotic chapter! Let's go!" On February 13, 2020, The Weeknd revealed the title of the project "After Hours" through a 48-second teaser. A couple of days after the announcement of the album's name, its release date of March 20, 2020, was shared through social media to accompany the title track's release as a promotional single. In the last week leading up to the album's release, After Hours' tracklist was revealed on March 17, 2020. On March 19, 2020, The Weeknd announced that the album is dedicated to a long time fan and host of the popular XO Podcast, Lance, who died the night before. The album debuted alongside the eighth episode of Memento Mori on March 20, 2020, with The Weeknd also hosting a Spotify listening session upon its release. A deluxe edition of the album containing five remixes was released without any prior notice on March 23, 2020. On March 30, 2020, on the second anniversary of My Dear Melancholy, an updated version of the deluxe edition containing three new bonus tracks was released. A remix EP titled After Hours (Remixes) featuring the deluxe edition's remixes and an additional remix, was released on April 3, 2020. Artwork and aesthetic: The artwork and aesthetic for the album's promotional material has been described as psychedelic and being inspired by various films, such as Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Joker, Casino, and Uncut Gems, with the last film having a cameo appearance by The Weeknd himself. Tesfaye's physical appearance in the era has been described by journalists as being red-pigmented, with him consistently maintaining a red suit and specific hairstyles throughout all of the album's promotional material, such as its artwork, music videos, teasers, and live performances. The Tammi brothers primarily handled the album’s overall art direction with its design being handled by Aleksi Tammi, and its photography and visual direction being handled by Anton Tammi, who directed the music videos for the album's singles, and the project's same-titled short film. The album's creative direction was handled by La Mar C. Taylor. Nabil Elderkin handled the photography and video direction for the promotional material of the deluxe version of the project, in this material, Tesfaye continues the era's "Sin City" theme, with him residing within a casino and donning a black suit in the two teasers for the bonus tracks. Notably, the black suit used in the teasers for the deluxe edition of the album and cover art for the bonus tracks and remix EP was the first time The Weeknd wore a non-red suit in the promotional material for the project since his first live performance of "Blinding Lights" on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (dated December 6, 2019), in which he donned a blue suit. On February 20, 2020, The After Hours Tour was announced by The Weeknd through social media. It is set to span North America and Europe. The tour will last throughout the latter half of 2020, with it beginning on June 11 and ending on November 12. Sabrina Claudio, Don Toliver, and Black Atlass are set to open the tour. Performances: On December 5, 2019, The Weeknd performed "Heartless" for the first time on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert. With "Blinding Lights" receiving its debut performance the following day on the same show. Both performances received positive reactions from critics and audiences and were compared to those done by Michael Jackson and Prince in the past. On January 22, 2020, "Blinding Lights" was performed at Jimmy Kimmel Live! Tesfaye's appearance during the performance on the show was inspired by the events that occurred within the aforementioned single's music video, which was released shortly before his live performance. The Weeknd was announced as a performer for the March 7, 2020 episode of the 45th season of Saturday Night Live. During his appearance, he performed a comedic track alongside Kenan Thompson and Chris Redd, made specifically for the show, titled "On the Couch", and the songs: "Blinding Lights" and the previously unreleased "Scared to Live", the latter of which featured electronic musician Oneohtrix Point Never and interpolates "Your Song" by Elton John. Singles On November 27, 2019, the album's lead single, "Heartless", was released digitally on music stores and streaming services. American record producer Metro Boomin noticeably produced the song. At the time of its release, it was The Weeknd's first solo single since 2018's "Call Out My Name" from the EP My Dear Melancholy (2018). The single peaked at number one on the US Billboard Hot 100 and became The Weeknd's fourth song to top the chart, with it also becoming Metro Boomin's second chart-topper that he produced. Its music video was released on December 3, 2019. "Blinding Lights" was released digitally on music stores and streaming services on November 29, 2019, as the album's second single. The song peaked at number one on the US Billboard Hot 100 and reached number one in various other countries, becoming his first chart-topper in the United Kingdom and Australia. Its music video is set in the aftermath of "Heartless"' visual and was released on January 21, 2020. "In Your Eyes" was released to rhythmic contemporary radio on March 24, 2020, as the album's third single. Its music video follows the storyline of the previously released visuals and was released on March 23, 2020. Promotional singles On February 18, 2020, Tesfaye announced the release of the album's title track with the reveal of the album's cover art. The promotional single reached the top 20 of various countries worldwide, including the United States, where it peaked at number 20 on the US Billboard Hot 100. Teaser and short film On February 13, 2020, The Weeknd released a 48-second teaser that announced the album's title. Journalists noted its resemblance to the digital work done in the 2019 film Uncut Gems, which Tesfaye had a cameo in. Its visuals were also compared to those found in the music videos for the album's first two singles. A self-titled short film for the album was first teased on March 3, 2020, with its release occurring on March 4, 2020. It was directed by Anton Tammi and continued the storyline and aesthetics found in the visuals for "Heartless" and "Blinding Lights". The film is set shortly after The Weeknd's performance of "Blinding Lights" on Jimmy Kimmel Live! (dated January 22, 2020) and features various snippets of the tracks from the album as Tesfaye navigates a subway. It concludes with The Weeknd seemingly murdering a couple in a secluded elevator. Journalists as being inspired by the films Joker and The Shining noted the visual. Critical reception Professional ratings Aggregate scores Source Rating AnyDecentMusic? 7.7/10 Metacritic 83/100 Review scores Source Rating AllMusic 4/5 stars Consequence of Sound A– Evening Standard 3/5 stars Exclaim! 8/10 The Guardian 4/5 stars The Independent 4/5 stars NME 4/5 stars Pitchfork 7.9/10 PopMatters 8/10 Rolling Stone 3.5/5 stars After Hours was met with widespread critical acclaim. At Metacritic, the album received an average score of 83, based on 17 reviews. Aggregator AnyDecentMusic? Gave it 7.7 out of 10, based on their assessment of the critical consensus. Writing for Consequence of Sound, Candace McDuffie praised the album, stating, "As he evolves, he continues to reinvent himself, and he knows exactly how to leave fans hooked on havoc. And After Hours is proof that he's not done with us yet; in fact, he's just getting started." Exclaim!'s reviewer Jacob Carey stated in his review that "After Hours does feel like the Weeknd's very own version of Vegas – a place where overindulgence, self-loathing and promiscuity are not only welcomed but encouraged." The Guardian's critic Michael Cragg gave After Hours a positive review, praising the "sense of narrative cohesion" on the album, saying that "songs bleed into each other, with sonic references dotted throughout to neaten up threads that previously he [The Weeknd] would have left to unravel. By balancing the two sides of his musical personality – not to mention add some levity to that boring, bad-taste id – After Hours feels like the first Weeknd album in a while to offer up a clear, singular vision rather than something frustratingly abstract." Writing for The Independent, Roisin O'Connor stated, "After Hours abandons the danceability of its predecessor in favor of moody introspection. This is the music you listen to when the party's over." O'Connor further compares the album to The Weeknd's previous releases, saying that he on After Hours "still delves into a bad boy persona but there's a tinge of remorse that runs through, in comparison to the cold and often cruel tone of earlier cuts." Luke Morgan Britton of NME called After Hours "The Weeknd's strongest record in some time" and that "It's a record free of features and full of probing self-reflection." Jon Dolan of Rolling Stone gave the album a positive review, stating, "After Hours certainly has its share of pity-partying. But there's also a vulnerability that goes beyond the usual too-beautiful-for-the-world sulking." Dolan also said that the album "hits the best balance yet of the gloomy melodrama of the Weeknd's early EPs or his 2018 release My Dear Melancholy and the pop slickness of his 2016 LP Starboy." Writing for Variety, Jem Aswad praised the album, stating, "The Weeknd is launching the next era with his most fully realized album yet, 'After Hours.' Sonically, the hallmarks are ultra-cinematic keyboards, pulsating sub-bass, hard beats (which are seldom danceable), '80s synthesizer flourishes and caverns of echo, all of which contrast with his high, angelic voice." Aswad ended his review by saying that "After Hours is one of the most successful musicians of the past decade testing the balance between innovation and commerciality as much as anyone today." David Smyth of Evening Standard particularly praised the song "Blinding Lights", while stating that The Weeknd's "in a bit of a fug" on the rest of the album. Commercial performance Despite the album not being released yet during the tracking period ending on February 27, 2020, After Hours managed to reach a position of number 10 on the US Rolling Stone Top 200 through the 36,000 album-equivalent units provided by the already available singles at the time. On March 19, 2020, After Hours broke the record for the most global pre-adds for an album in Apple Music history, with over 1.02 million users pre-adding the album to their libraries. After Hours debuted atop the US Billboard 200 with 444,000 album-equivalent units, including 275,000 pure album sales. It is The Weeknd's fourth number-one album and marks the biggest first-week sales of 2020 for an album. Additionally, after the album's first week of availability, all 14 songs charted on the Billboard Hot 100, with ten of them in the top 40, led by "Blinding Lights" at number one, and "In Your Eyes" debuting the highest, at number 16. The album remained at number one on the Billboard 200 in its second week with 138,000 album-equivalent units, of which 47,000 were pure album sales. It is The Weeknd's third consecutive album to spend multiple weeks. The album debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart with over 26,000 units sold, making it The Weeknd's second number one on the chart, five years after Beauty Behind the Madness. It also topped the chart in The Weeknd's native Canada, with 54,000 album-equivalent units.

Do you love After Hours (The Weeknd) album? Please share your friends!

After Hours (The Weeknd) Album Songs

NoSong TitleTime
1.Alone Again 4:10
2.Too Late 3:59
3.Hardest To Love 3:31
4.Scared To Live 3:11
5.Snowchild 4:07
6.Escape From LA 5:55
7.Heartless 3:18
8.Faith 4:43
9.Blinding Lights 3:20
10.In Your Eyes 3:57
11.Save Your Tears 3:35
12.Repeat After Me (Interlude) 3:15
13.After Hours 6:01
14.Until I Bleed Out 3:10

The Weeknd - After Hours Album Comments

What do you think After Hours album? Can you share your thoughts and listen experiences with other peoples?

Please wait! Facebook song comments loading...

After Hours [The Weeknd] Album Reviews

TransferWise 💸

Enjoy high maximum transfers into more than 20 currencies while saving up to 90% over local banks! The cheap, fast way to send money abroad. Free transfer up to 500 USD!

- Fire 🔥

This album is 🔥! He is still continuing doing his work for music and this album is by far is his best work so far. All the songs are pretty good. I can’t wait to listen to more of his songs good job Abel. Keep it up!!

- 👍🏼

The best artist!!

- Blinding lights

Look we should all agree that this is good

- I LOVE IT

The only reason I don’t have it is because of the album picture

- The Best of Abel in recent years !

Tracks to look out for original fans : Alone Again,Escape from LA,Faith,Repeat After Me,After Hours,Until i Bleed Out, Tracks for new listeners: Too Late,Heartless,Blinding lights,In your eyes,Save Your Tears,Scared To Live

- YES

You probably have a bad voice if you hate this :p

- Alysemz

Such a good song!! They should put this in stranger things

- Great Selection

I’m not a weekend fan and ❤️ In your Eyes, Blinding Lights, Heartless ❤️❤️❤️

- G

Awesome

- What an album

I love all the songs. Specially in your eyes, such cool music. Well done XO

- 🤮🤮

Horrible not the same weekend album

- Good album

I love the song in your eyes

- Greatness

A BANGER as expected!

- After Hours - A Track By Track Review

1. Alone Again: Good. It has a nice bass to it. 2. Too Late: A great track. Synths are very eerie and ambient. 3. Hardest To Love: It feels a little to much like Scared To Live, but still good, just not as good as Scared To Live. 4. Scared To Live: A very nice track. Abel’s vocals on here stand out 5. Snowchild: Not the best, probably my least favorite. Abel’s vocals on here don’t sound that good 6. Escape From L.A: Good, but kind of forgettable. 7. Heartless: Good. Eerie instrumental. 8. Faith: Please release this as a single 9. Blinding Lights: Great. It’s very energetic 10. In Your Eyes: Amazing saxophone. 11. Save Your Tears: It’s good. 12. Repeat After Me (Interlude): Forgettable. 13. After Hours (The Title Track): Good 14. Until I Bleed Out: Eerie closer Score: 8/10

- nice

all these songs are really good i’m so happy this album came out

- It’s so good 🔥🔥🔥

I might as well give the clean version a 5 too

- Overrated

Same tired vocals. Sounds like all his work. He’s honestly overrated

- Album

I know this is going to be fireee !!!! Can’t wait to see him aug 3rd here in Oakland 💗💗💗💗love you abel💗

- Pre order is weird

I love The Weeknd but pre orders are weird because the way it works with apps that u preorder is that you buy it and you get it the day it releases that’s how it should be done now my preorder is invalid

- 👌🏿

I can’t wait for his concert in Tulsa! I am going with a couple of my friends from my school can’t wait!

- short and sweet

i ain't even heard 11 of the songs on this album but it's an instant classic already, put it in the MOMA

- THANK YOU BRO

Art .

AirBNB 🎁

Get $32 off on your first stay at travels. Claim your $32 Airbnb free credit by clicking here!

- Thank you for the clean version. Blinding 💡 is my favorite song

😜 me don’t like cause I’m religious. Sounds like good 1980’s 🎶 that my uncle 👂🏻to. Oh by the way I like Faith as well as Blinding 💡. Scared 😱 to live is another good song. 👏🏻

- Won’t surprise

Because we know you legend ❤️ love ya bruhhh #theweeknd so far best album of the year you cure the corona with masterpiece.

- Trash!!!

What is this

- Great Album.

Just what I was waiting for!

- Amazing!

This mans whole discography is amazing, every single song has something you can take from it sonically, lyrics always fire, and he has a good ear for production and composition along with his team!

- Best Album of 2020?

listened to The Weeknd back in 2011, I have waited for so long for him to release a fresh album.

- Cool

I actually don’t have a problem with the album cover It’s actually kinda cool 😎 The music is pretty good, but kinda all sounds the same If it’s not appropriate for children, then don’t show it to them! It’s not like it’s gonna be put on the kids channels for there leisure viewing! Also, children shouldn’t be listening to this! It’s all explicit(almost) and any reasonable parent would not let them listen to this! If you have a problem with it, then don’t listen to it!

- Stupid Reviews

All these reviews commenting about the album cover like nobody asked and why do u care not like your gonna wear it on you shirt. It’s the musicians choice and he’s allowed to do what he/her desires. ok Karen’s don’t yell at me here 0.0

- Album cover

The songs are great but the album cover isn’t appropriate for children

- Dumb album cover pix...trying to act all dark and stupid

Truth

Payoneer 💰

Wondering how you could earn $25 by just signing up? Earn $25 for free by joining Payoneer. Sign Up!

- Top class

Well done the weeknd you have done well.

- Epic

This album is probably the best he's done

- 3/3

At the time of writing this review, Abel has released three tracks and so far each track has been great.

Libertex 📈

You can learn how to earn on the Forex market! Become Libertex client and practice trading on financial markets without risk. Get Free Forex Course!

Patch'd

I ordered some reading material. I figure after binge watching hours of free lectures from @jordanbpeterson it was the least I could do. May review it... may not. If it helps, I probably will. If not, I'll roll joints with the paper. .

6 God

@rapisfunn After hours because of the title track..

DJ Kopeman #GrooveTheoryDayParty

@esildn I’m heated. I can’t believe it. 😭😭 I thought after those hours the list will at least be good kmt!! 🤬🤬🤬.

Pluto

How is Jennifers hands not all wrinkly after shes been swimmimg in a pool for 3 hours .

CryptoNewsDaily

Ether Soars Above $1,000 for First Time Since 2018, Hours After Crossing $800 /r/CryptoCurrency .

Ryan Elder

Checking in on @ProducerSpenc... how you doing after the last 7 hours bud?.

Corleone👑

@gee_shenka @Sauda_Fathiyya They said we'll hear from them after 48 hours.

‏ 🔪🥀رئيسة خالد ابن الرشيد

@fireheartmar I dnf’d after he tied her up and left her for hours. Nico and Elena are everything to me 😭😭.

🗡Ivy Wants A Sword 2021🗡

Finest example was being unable to complete one (1) portion of one hw assignment bc I couldn’t understand it, couldn’t find help online after hours of looking, and was promptly sent to what is essentially lunch detention to do the homework I still did not understand, epic win.

Pettyboss

I'm finally back at my apartment after being up for 28 straight hours and driving the last 7, excited to be back with my dual pc so I can stream not at the detriment of my fps, so expect some ranked streams this week, but not every day since my term starts tomorrow as well :(.

Mind Lab Pro ® 🎯

Mind Lab Pro® boosts work performance and productivity with nootropics for focus, multitasking under stress, creative problem-solving and more. Buy Now!

After Hours Wiki

After Hours or Afterhours may refer to:

2020 synthpop rnb alternative rnb synthwave listen After Hours After Hours album credits After Hours album songs

Are you safe on the Internet?Surf anonymously, prevent hackers from acquiring your IP address, send anonymous email, and encrypt your Internet connection. High speed, ultra secure, and easy to use. Instant setup.